What is Bullying?

Most kids know what bullying is because they see it happen every day!

Studies have shown that teenagers are more likely to be bullied than younger children. 9/10 teenagers are bullied in the United States. Kids bully to look “cool” in front of they’re friends. There are four types of bullying:

1. Verbal Bullying

Name-calling, sarcasm, teasing, spreading rumours, threatening, making negative references to one’s culture, ethnicity, race, religion, gender, or sexual orientation, unwanted sexual comments.

2. Social Bullying

Mobbing, scapegoating, excluding others from a group, humiliating others with public gestures or graffiti intended to put others down.

3. Physical Bullying

Hitting, poking, pinching, chasing, shoving, coercing, destroying or stealing belongings, unwanted sexual touching.

4. Cyber-Bullying

Using the internet or text messaging to intimidate, put-down, spread rumours or make fun of someone.

Cyber-Bullying can lower a person’s self-esteem. One tiny word can leave a huge scar in someone’s body. When you are on the internet, make sure to never give out your personal information, such as: your password, your email, your postal code or your last name.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s